Reviews

What Our Guests Say...

Thank you for your review!

‘It was absolutely perfect…’

We stayed at Cow Byre cottages 1 and 2 as a group of 10 friends for a long weekend. It was absolutely perfect – the location’s great (a 25 min walk into Bradford on Avon, partly across fields), and Nigel and Pauline are very friendly and helpful – we were running late and Nigel even unpacked our big food delivery! Beth | Cow Byres 1&2| June 2022 The cottages were great for a group gathering, and we really enjoyed using the barbecue outside and sitting in the sunny patio, and the living room/kitchens are really spacious, which was ideal for us as a big group. If you’re looking for somewhere to stay near Bradford on Avon, I can’t recommend staying here highly enough!

…the accommodation was fantastic….

We stayed in the Pig Wig cottage and the accommodation was fantastic for a holiday in the countryside but with all your city creature comforts. The decor was lovely (we loved all the pig paraphernalia!) And they provided a pack of fox’s biscuits, a bottle of prosecco, tea, coffee, sugar, milk and eggs. The view of the field and ponies was absolutely magical and we really enjoyed the chickens, ducks and guinea fowl (the noise not so much but it’s the countryside!) Roaming around the farmyard. The site was very dog friendly with dog bins provided, walking fields and a decent field to take the dog out in for toilet trips. Dogs must be on the lead at all times around the farmyard animals but that wasn’t a problem for us. Natalie | PigWig | May 2022

‘our Room Was Very Cosy.’

Our room was very cosy. It had everything we needed for a short stay. The shower room is big and was always warm. They have some lovely animals on the farm. The games room is great! There’s lots of family games to play. We received a lovely warm welcome from the hosts. They helped us with an early check-in and were contactable throughout our stay. It’s a great location to explore Bradford on Avon and Bath. We would definitely stay here again. Lucy | Old Dairy | May 2022

Wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.

We had both of the cow byre cottages to accommodate a party of ten and it was fantastic! Great location, wonderful property with the rustic charm of an active small holding and Nigel was really informative and helpful. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay again. Jonathan | Cow Byres 1&2 | April 2022

I will be recommending you to everyone!

Hi Nigel, I’ve canvassed the family and can’t think of anything you could do to improve our stay. The cottage was a great size with plenty of room. It was great that you provided all the cleaning utensils etc, as that isn’t always guaranteed, and had all the facilities we could need. Your site was perfect for walking our dog, and very close to Bradford, which was also easily within walking distance. I will be recommending you to everyone! Karen | PigWig Country Cottage | April 2022

What a find

Just what I needed! Cosy comfortable clean and relaxing. Highly recommend. On opening of the front door all senses absorb well-being! Hosts were welcoming and a perfect balance. Loved the touch of allowing dogs there, even though I did not have one. 10/10 Thank you so much for a fabulous stay. 🤗☀️🧘‍♀️🌼Meryl 27 Feb 22

We enjoyed our short stay at the Potato Shed.

We enjoyed our short stay at the Potato Shed. Whilst it was a little limited on space, you managed to provide all the little extras on 2 trays, & the fridge was most useful for our milk and wine….! The bathroom and shower were lovely and the towels nice and big. Also nice extras in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. We particularly enjoyed our morning visit from Misty…..both beautiful dogs. And the chickens and ponies of course. 
Hope to see you again in the future…. with welshcakes! Jackie | Potato Shed | April 2022

Thank you so much for a fantastic stay.

Thank you so much for a fantastic stay. The property was amazing and you had thought of everything. Lovely to have the crockery and cutlery enough for us to have a light breakfast, decent sized cups of tea and even a glass of wine!! The shower also was fantastically powerful. 
I would definitely recommend Beeches to my friends and I will definitely be returning later this year with my daughter if not the rest of the family.
Thank you for everything. Jackie | Milking Shed | April 2022

A charming comfy cottage stay….

A charming comfy cottage stay. Our host Nigel was very attentive. Our kids loved the resident animals and definitely want to return. Nicole | PigWig | March 2022

It was all so lovely and comfortable…..

We can’t name just one thing that we loved about our room. It was all so lovely and comfortable. The seats outside were a wonderful spot to sit and enjoy and cup of tea and the attention to detail both inside and out of our room made it special. The facilities like the fridge, microwave and toaster aren’t something you’d normally get when staying somewhere on a room only basis. But while we only really used the fridge the fact we had the option to make use of a toaster and microwave were a great addition. The tea tray was very well stocked and the bottle of milk was very welcome. 

There’s nothing we could think of that would’ve made our stay better. 

I’ve already been raving to friends and family how lovely the room we had was. I know our eldest daughter and her boyfriend are already considering booking with you. 

We would love to come and stay again as we had such a great time. Watching the birds and listening to their singing was just so relaxing along with our visits from Blue and Misty who are both just great. Finally a massive thank you to you the owners for all the hard work you put in to making it such a great place to come and stay. We look forward to coming back again. Becky | The Cart House | March 2022

Pig Wig Cottage

We have really enjoyed our days at Pig Wig Cottage and would certainly recommend it to our friends.
Highlights have been the welcome, the very comfortable beds, cosy log burner and the peaceful surroundings. Sandra | PigWig Cottage | Mar 22

Birthday Celebration Weekend

We booked the interlinking cottage Cow byres and 2 separate rooms to accommodate 16 of our family to have a weekend together. We are a mix of ages from teens to older grandparents. We had a lovely time and found Nigel the host very helpful. The accommodation was clean and cosy and had everything you would need in the kitchen. The games room was great and the teens loved it in there playing pool and ping pong. We spent time in Bath visiting the Roman spa and the Abby which we would recommend. Marianne | Tripadvisor | March 22

100% Recommended

Stayed in the Potato Shed room at Beeches and found the whole experience fantastic. My partner and I had a very warm and genuine welcome from Pauline and the room was clean, cosy and comfortable with a matching nice size en-suite bathroom featuring a bath and powerful shower which is always a must for me. The heating systems and comfortable bed kept us nice and warm on a very chilly night and we had every in the room you might need including tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits, plates, mugs and glasses and even a microwave and toaster should we have needed to make something to eat in the room. Jamieson | Potato Shed | Feb 2022

Lovely Stay.

Loved our stay at Pig Wig. Cosy and well stocked and we loved Bradford-On-Avon. Thank you and we will visit again! Louise | PigWig Cottage | Feb 2022

Lovely place..

The properties are two little cottages which mirror one another, effectively 2 separate cottages (with 2 kitchens, 2 bathrooms, 2 doors) but they join in the middle. Quite an unusual set up, you can use it as 1 big space or if you want some privacy from one group to the other that’s possible too. Nice and cosy. We had 8 adults, 3 children, a baby and a dog all in there! 5 minute drive away from B-o-A town and train station. Easily had an Asda shop and dominoes delivered here. Really good value for money. Ashton | Cow Byres 1 & 2 | February 2022

A Very Relaxing Couple of Days

Hosts very welcoming and helpful. Covid arrangements very clear & efficient. Room very clean & comfortable. A lovely surprise to have fresh flowers too. Plenty of choice in tea/coffee provisions, including fresh milk. Richard | The Milking Shed | Oct 20

Exceeded our expectations…..

Our stay in the Cow Byre exceeded our expectations. It is very well equipped, it had everything we needed as well as extras like fresh flowers. There is an outside table with barbeque area that we hadn’t expected. We felt safe with the high standard of cleanliness. The beds were just right with very nice linen. The views are lovely and the environment nicely planted and planned for privacy. We welcomed visits from the dogs every evening and enjoyed seeing the chickens and ponies. Beeches is well situated for easy travel to Bradford and Bath and an easy, pleasant journey from the M4. There were lots of attractions in the area that were closed because of Covid but we still found plenty to see and do. We particularly enjoyed the Caen Hill locks and Lacock. Bradford on Avon is a delightful little town. Susan | Sept 2020

Motorbike Trip

“We were on a motorbike trip so needed a base to come back and chill after long days riding. The two cottages were excellent, easy to cook, good bed arrangement. Exactly what we needed. Nigel was great at communicating and an excellent host, helpful if we needed but happy to leave us to do our own thing” Harry | Airbnb| August 2020

A Great Stay In Bradford on Avon……

“A great stay in Bradford on Avon. Had everything we needed, and was exactly as described! Thanks so much!” Sarah | Airbnb | August 2020

Lovely Welcoming Place….

Wanted to say how amazing our stay was here in the milking shed. The owners were so friendly and it was lovely having all of the animals around. The place was really endearing and we were so impressed with how the owners are managing the covid situation. Will definitely be back. Michelle | Tripadvisor | August 2020

We enjoyed visiting Bradford-upon- Avon enormously…..

“We enjoyed visiting Bradford-upon- Avon enormously and the cottages are a great base for local trips, and also wider across the Cotswolds and into Bath. Some lovely walks in and around the accommodation which was a bonus.” Rebecca | Airbnb | August 2020

Charming

Great place to stay. Accommodation lovely. Stayed for five nights in The Old Diary and can highly recommend. Room very clean and huge shower. Lovely touches in the room including milk. Towels and toiletries all provided which we didn’t expect and included hand sanitizer. Set outside in the patio area in the morning and evening after a great night sleep. My boy aged six loved it. Played football every evening and the fact the field had goals was even better. Also went to see the ponies every day! Lovely quiet location although only a few minutes from Bradford-on-Avon and very close to Bath. Would highly recommend. Five out of five. Will hopefully be back and will be recommending to others. Thank you to our hosts.

Great little place full of charm….

Great little place full of charm, we all enjoyed ourselves immensely. Pig Wig Cottage | Airbnb | July 2020

Great fun and relaxing.

Great. We felt very safe as this was our first time away post lockdown.

Great chickens. Interesting local wildlife. WiFi was excellent which is good if you have older children.

Fantastic three night stay….

Fantastic three night stay, in a lovely farm location, My husband and I stayed in the Potato Shed, With our 2 Weimaraner’s, who were under strict instructions to stay off the bed and be kind to the farm animals, the room was lovely, and we sat in the patio area every morning, watching the world go by, and Pauline and Nigel, who work very hard to keep everywhere running well, it was great watching the ducks, chickens and guineafowl roam freely around the place, we had a really great time

We booked a last minute, not knowing much about the place, but we couldn’t have picked anywhere better, it was peaceful, we had three fields we could use to exercise the dogs in and pubs to walk too.
July 2020

Delightful destination……

We stayed three nights, with our dog, in early March 2020. Our room (The Potato Shed) was very neat, clean, tidy and well appointed. Fresh fruit and flowers on arrival! Our tea making tray was there too, so after a 250 mile drive a welcome cuppa was available on arrival. Our bed was VERY comfortable and we all slept well every night. The three dog walking fields adjacent got a visit or two but it was so muddy underfoot we did not make as much use of that as we might have later in the year. Breakfast (continental, and you have choose what appears on your tray) was lovely – and more than ample for even the largest appetite! Nigel and Pauline were ever helpful with information and offers of assistance. We loved our stay; would go back again and would recommend it with our any hesitation or reservation. Oh, and the cunning ‘What3Words’ address, using that App, takes you right to their door….Marvellous! Tripadvisor March 2020

We had a lovely stay here in the Cow Byres

We had a lovely stay here in the Cow Byres. The accommodation was great for a group of friends, with lots of beds and plenty of cooking equipment. The location was great, and communication and check in was very smooth. We hope to come back. February 2020

Lovely half term break at Beeches!

We had a lovely half term break at Beeches. We stayed in the adjoining cottages with my sister and her family. We rang when 30minutes away and were guided in and welcomed warmly. We ‘moved in’ easily thanks to the short cut offered from their private driveway. We expressed an interest in their many farm pets and the children were invited to help put the chickens to bed! We gave the sheltands a stroke and some carrots! Over the next few days we used the cottage as a base with easy access to Bath, Longleat safari park (thanks to Nigel offering us a discount) and other local attractions. We came home to a lovely fire we were provided with the equipment to make! The children made good use of the Games room and also tidied up after others had been in there! Yes it was cold and smelled of damp (feb2020 is cold and wet!) but it has so much potential to be a warm, welcoming place to enjoy family times with a little love. All the facilities you’d need are there – washing machine, cooking implements and utensils etc. The beds were made up to the sizes we requested – thank you so much for your flexibility and time to do that. The bedding felt clean and it was a welcome sight at the end of long days out. Things I’d do differently if going again; Probably take some descaler for the kettle – being that we’re Londoners and enjoy filtered water at home, the water is hard in the area and we also purchased bottled water (but that’s our preference) The dishwasher was awesome! We rinsed everything in the sink but it cleaned everything so well! Better than at home! Nigel and Pauline were so polite and helpful and couldn’t do enough for us all. It made the stay so pleasant and we’ll definitely be back! Google Review February 2020

Will Be Back Soon!

Really super stay . Made to feel very welcome and wonderful accomadation . Will be coming back again and will be sure to recommend to others . Facilities are first class and exceptional value for money. Thank you.T&T . Our dogs thank you too. – 21st February 2020

Amazing Break Away!

We had an amazing Valentines weekend break at Beeches! I requested for some special romantic touches to be added to the room and they surpassed our every expectation, the room was decorated beautifully and just as I had imagined. The location of the place is lovely, very quiet and relaxing. The Old Barn House was a superb size, and the bathroom was fabulous. Lovely hospitality tray, fresh fruit and milk in the mini fridge. The hosts were lovely and were willing to cater for our every need, providing us with everything we could have wanted and more. Breakfast was amazing, with a nice range of choices to pick from. Would 100% stay again without a doubt. Tripadvisor Feb 19th 2020

‘Somewhere to come back to’

The room was clean, comfortable and warm. Lovely touches like well stocked hospitality tray, bowl of fruit, milk in fridge for excellent variety of drinks, large sized shower. Can’t praise this accommodation enough. Walked into town along safe field path. Wish we had stayed longer. We didn’t opt for continental breakfast as we’d arranged to see friends but I’m sure it would have been excellent. Tripadvisor 13th January 2020

‘Great Stay’

“Great stay, would definitely return and recommend. Beautiful location and ideal for dog walks. 5* host” – Julia- Mid-January 2020

‘Great Stay!’

“We had a great stay at Nigel’s place. We arrived late and still had such an easy check in with a superb communication. Place was as described and we felt comfortable. Very much appreciated the fresh milk in the fridge and the possibility to bring our dog. Also loved the company of the chickens and ducks in the morning. It felt like they wanted to help us while packing the car 🙂 thanks.”
Julia – Early January 2020

Everything Was Wonderful!

The Cow Byre Cottages are outstanding. Nigel is very responsive and a great host. We highly recommend the cottages to anyone traveling through the area. Airbnb Review Early January 2020

Cosy Cottage

We are at Pig Wig and it is a lovely place been here 2 times now and can highly recommend it – Google My Business Review Early Jan 2020

Christmas stay at Beeches Farmhouse.

We really enjoyed our stay at Beeches Farmhouse.
We were actually having the Christmas holiday with our family who live a couple of miles away and as they couldn’t sleep us we had to find an alternative place to stay.
Nigel & Pauline were very accommodating in letting have ‘The Old Dairy’ cottage.
We found it to be very comfortable, clean,warm and cozy. With plenty of towels, extra blankets. Great size shower. There was milk and drinking water in the fridge. Even Mince pies, fruit and sweets were provided.
We wanted for nothing.
If you are looking for somewhere close to Bradford on Avon for a short break, look no further.- Tripadvisor December 2019

Characterful, flexible accommodation in a charming location hosted by friendly and attentive owners.

Lovely quiet location yet minutes from Bradford upon Avon. We stayed in the Pig Wig cottage – charming, rustic, roomy, large beds, warm and cosy with all the self-catering facilities you need. We also took breakfast in the main farmhouse – freshly cooked, good produce, generous portions, served by our welcoming host Nigel – couldn’t fault it. Having the animals (dogs, cats, ponies, hens etc) around you was great too – all felt like one big happy family. Dec 2019 via Booking.com

Amazing time had by all

Amazing place lovely staff animals were great would definitely recommend. Dec 2019 via Booking.com

A Simple ‘Thank you’. 5* Review

Up front I admit that we did not stay at Beeches. We booked with them and were on the way when we were informed of a family emergency which meant we had to turn round and travel back home. We were aware that the fees were non-refundable and in the circumstances were prepared to write off the money.

However, these lovely people sold on the rooms and refunded the cost of the later nights of our trip. In a very dark and difficult time, the kindness, friendliness and great customer service was very much appreciated.

We fully intend to have our visit to Beeches in the future but wanted to note the Decent and honourable treatment we received. Thank you. (TripAdvisor December 2019)

Self Catering Cottage: Quaint, Peaceful. Clean.

Quaint, peaceful. Clean and had everything we needed. Well stocked kitchen. Cheaper than properties we were looking at in Bath. Nice for families. Amy, November 2019

For the price-very good value for money and facilities were good-near to town and not far from Bath.

The animals,seating outside when the sun came out,little extras in room,walk-in shower,heating-was worried before going as stayed in log cabin before in winter that was cold-this was nice and warm,including the bathroom,having a fridge in room and the host was welcoming.Also free parking. Oct 19

Self Catering Cottage – Loved it!

The kids absolutely loved the games room and outdoor space, made them feel very welcome. Cottage was clean, cosy and warm with everything we needed. The owners flexibility in setting up a room for our 3 children despite Booking.com not forwarding on this information was really nice, thank you.  Oct 2019

A very unique and charming place with a lovely host – would highly recommend!

The accommodation was absolutely lovely with a unique and rustic style. The room was very clean and cosy, breakfast perfectly cooked and we also enjoyed a game of pool in the games room. Our dog was welcome for a small extra charge and had an entire field next to the property to run around freely! – October 2019

Fabulous accomodation and delicious high quality breakfast

Pauline and Nigel are lovely amiable hosts, that go an extra mile to make sure their guests enjoy their stay. The ‘Milking Shed’ accommodation was excellent, the biggest bed I ever saw, bath stone and wooden beams, with lovely little extras, from toiletries, to fresh milk and spring water, a huge selection of beverage items, microwave facilities and even umbrellas! I brought along my dog and we enjoyed walks along the designated fields where she could run free, idyllic. I booked to stay last minute, and what a great decision that was. I must add that the breakfast was stunning, I was naughty enough to have a cooked breakfast on both mornings and it was out of this world, all fresh, plenty of it and served with a smile and a little chat. I will DEFINTELY be booking to stay again, whether for business or pleasure as there are so many historic places nearby to explore. Thank you so much Pauline and Nigel, see you soon!

Jayne – October 2019