Reviews

What Our Guests Say...

Thank you for your review!

Exceeded our expectations…..

Our stay in the Cow Byre exceeded our expectations. It is very well equipped, it had everything we needed as well as extras like fresh flowers. There is an outside table with barbeque area that we hadn’t expected. We felt safe with the high standard of cleanliness. The beds were just right with very nice linen. The views are lovely and the environment nicely planted and planned for privacy. We welcomed visits from the dogs every evening and enjoyed seeing the chickens and ponies. Beeches is well situated for easy travel to Bradford and Bath and an easy, pleasant journey from the M4. There were lots of attractions in the area that were closed because of Covid but we still found plenty to see and do. We particularly enjoyed the Caen Hill locks and Lacock. Bradford on Avon is a delightful little town. Susan | Sept 2020

Motorbike Trip

“We were on a motorbike trip so needed a base to come back and chill after long days riding. The two cottages were excellent, easy to cook, good bed arrangement. Exactly what we needed. Nigel was great at communicating and an excellent host, helpful if we needed but happy to leave us to do our own thing” Harry | Airbnb| August 2020

A Great Stay In Bradford on Avon……

“A great stay in Bradford on Avon. Had everything we needed, and was exactly as described! Thanks so much!” Sarah | Airbnb | August 2020

Lovely Welcoming Place….

Wanted to say how amazing our stay was here in the milking shed. The owners were so friendly and it was lovely having all of the animals around. The place was really endearing and we were so impressed with how the owners are managing the covid situation. Will definitely be back. Michelle | Tripadvisor | August 2020

We enjoyed visiting Bradford-upon- Avon enormously…..

“We enjoyed visiting Bradford-upon- Avon enormously and the cottages are a great base for local trips, and also wider across the Cotswolds and into Bath. Some lovely walks in and around the accommodation which was a bonus.” Rebecca | Airbnb | August 2020

Charming

Great place to stay. Accommodation lovely. Stayed for five nights in The Old Diary and can highly recommend. Room very clean and huge shower. Lovely touches in the room including milk. Towels and toiletries all provided which we didn’t expect and included hand sanitizer. Set outside in the patio area in the morning and evening after a great night sleep. My boy aged six loved it. Played football every evening and the fact the field had goals was even better. Also went to see the ponies every day! Lovely quiet location although only a few minutes from Bradford-on-Avon and very close to Bath. Would highly recommend. Five out of five. Will hopefully be back and will be recommending to others. Thank you to our hosts.

Great little place full of charm….

Great little place full of charm, we all enjoyed ourselves immensely. Pig Wig Cottage | Airbnb | July 2020

Great fun and relaxing.

Great. We felt very safe as this was our first time away post lockdown. Great chickens. Interesting local wildlife. WiFi was excellent which is good if you have older children.

Fantastic three night stay….

Fantastic three night stay, in a lovely farm location, My husband and I stayed in the Potato Shed, With our 2 Weimaraner’s, who were under strict instructions to stay off the bed and be kind to the farm animals, the room was lovely, and we sat in the patio area every morning, watching the world go by, and Pauline and Nigel, who work very hard to keep everywhere running well, it was great watching the ducks, chickens and guineafowl roam freely around the place, we had a really great time We booked a last minute, not knowing much about the place, but we couldn’t have picked anywhere better, it was peaceful, we had three fields we could use to exercise the dogs in and pubs to walk too. July 2020

Delightful destination……

We stayed three nights, with our dog, in early March 2020. Our room (The Potato Shed) was very neat, clean, tidy and well appointed. Fresh fruit and flowers on arrival! Our tea making tray was there too, so after a 250 mile drive a welcome cuppa was available on arrival. Our bed was VERY comfortable and we all slept well every night. The three dog walking fields adjacent got a visit or two but it was so muddy underfoot we did not make as much use of that as we might have later in the year. Breakfast (continental, and you have choose what appears on your tray) was lovely – and more than ample for even the largest appetite! Nigel and Pauline were ever helpful with information and offers of assistance. We loved our stay; would go back again and would recommend it with our any hesitation or reservation. Oh, and the cunning ‘What3Words’ address, using that App, takes you right to their door….Marvellous! Tripadvisor March 2020

We had a lovely stay here in the Cow Byres

We had a lovely stay here in the Cow Byres. The accommodation was great for a group of friends, with lots of beds and plenty of cooking equipment. The location was great, and communication and check in was very smooth. We hope to come back. February 2020

Lovely half term break at Beeches!

We had a lovely half term break at Beeches. We stayed in the adjoining cottages with my sister and her family. We rang when 30minutes away and were guided in and welcomed warmly. We ‘moved in’ easily thanks to the short cut offered from their private driveway. We expressed an interest in their many farm pets and the children were invited to help put the chickens to bed! We gave the sheltands a stroke and some carrots! Over the next few days we used the cottage as a base with easy access to Bath, Longleat safari park (thanks to Nigel offering us a discount) and other local attractions. We came home to a lovely fire we were provided with the equipment to make! The children made good use of the Games room and also tidied up after others had been in there! Yes it was cold and smelled of damp (feb2020 is cold and wet!) but it has so much potential to be a warm, welcoming place to enjoy family times with a little love. All the facilities you’d need are there – washing machine, cooking implements and utensils etc. The beds were made up to the sizes we requested – thank you so much for your flexibility and time to do that. The bedding felt clean and it was a welcome sight at the end of long days out. Things I’d do differently if going again; Probably take some descaler for the kettle – being that we’re Londoners and enjoy filtered water at home, the water is hard in the area and we also purchased bottled water (but that’s our preference) The dishwasher was awesome! We rinsed everything in the sink but it cleaned everything so well! Better than at home! Nigel and Pauline were so polite and helpful and couldn’t do enough for us all. It made the stay so pleasant and we’ll definitely be back! Google Review February 2020

Will Be Back Soon!

Really super stay . Made to feel very welcome and wonderful accomadation . Will be coming back again and will be sure to recommend to others . Facilities are first class and exceptional value for money. Thank you.T&T . Our dogs thank you too. – 21st February 2020

Amazing Break Away!

We had an amazing Valentines weekend break at Beeches! I requested for some special romantic touches to be added to the room and they surpassed our every expectation, the room was decorated beautifully and just as I had imagined. The location of the place is lovely, very quiet and relaxing. The Old Barn House was a superb size, and the bathroom was fabulous. Lovely hospitality tray, fresh fruit and milk in the mini fridge. The hosts were lovely and were willing to cater for our every need, providing us with everything we could have wanted and more. Breakfast was amazing, with a nice range of choices to pick from. Would 100% stay again without a doubt. Tripadvisor Feb 19th 2020

‘Somewhere to come back to’

The room was clean, comfortable and warm. Lovely touches like well stocked hospitality tray, bowl of fruit, milk in fridge for excellent variety of drinks, large sized shower. Can’t praise this accommodation enough. Walked into town along safe field path. Wish we had stayed longer. We didn’t opt for continental breakfast as we’d arranged to see friends but I’m sure it would have been excellent. Tripadvisor 13th January 2020

‘Great Stay’

“Great stay, would definitely return and recommend. Beautiful location and ideal for dog walks. 5* host” – Julia- Mid-January 2020

‘Great Stay!’

“We had a great stay at Nigel’s place. We arrived late and still had such an easy check in with a superb communication. Place was as described and we felt comfortable. Very much appreciated the fresh milk in the fridge and the possibility to bring our dog. Also loved the company of the chickens and ducks in the morning. It felt like they wanted to help us while packing the car 🙂 thanks.” Julia – Early January 2020

Everything Was Wonderful!

The Cow Byre Cottages are outstanding. Nigel is very responsive and a great host. We highly recommend the cottages to anyone traveling through the area. Airbnb Review Early January 2020

Cosy Cottage

We are at Pig Wig and it is a lovely place been here 2 times now and can highly recommend it – Google My Business Review Early Jan 2020

Christmas stay at Beeches Farmhouse.

We really enjoyed our stay at Beeches Farmhouse. We were actually having the Christmas holiday with our family who live a couple of miles away and as they couldn’t sleep us we had to find an alternative place to stay. Nigel & Pauline were very accommodating in letting have ‘The Old Dairy’ cottage. We found it to be very comfortable, clean,warm and cozy. With plenty of towels, extra blankets. Great size shower. There was milk and drinking water in the fridge. Even Mince pies, fruit and sweets were provided. We wanted for nothing. If you are looking for somewhere close to Bradford on Avon for a short break, look no further.- Tripadvisor December 2019

Characterful, flexible accommodation in a charming location hosted by friendly and attentive owners.

Lovely quiet location yet minutes from Bradford upon Avon. We stayed in the Pig Wig cottage – charming, rustic, roomy, large beds, warm and cosy with all the self-catering facilities you need. We also took breakfast in the main farmhouse – freshly cooked, good produce, generous portions, served by our welcoming host Nigel – couldn’t fault it. Having the animals (dogs, cats, ponies, hens etc) around you was great too – all felt like one big happy family. Dec 2019 via Booking.com

Amazing time had by all

Amazing place lovely staff animals were great would definitely recommend. Dec 2019 via Booking.com

A Simple ‘Thank you’. 5* Review

Up front I admit that we did not stay at Beeches. We booked with them and were on the way when we were informed of a family emergency which meant we had to turn round and travel back home. We were aware that the fees were non-refundable and in the circumstances were prepared to write off the money. However, these lovely people sold on the rooms and refunded the cost of the later nights of our trip. In a very dark and difficult time, the kindness, friendliness and great customer service was very much appreciated. We fully intend to have our visit to Beeches in the future but wanted to note the Decent and honourable treatment we received. Thank you. (TripAdvisor December 2019)

Self Catering Cottage: Quaint, Peaceful. Clean.

Quaint, peaceful. Clean and had everything we needed. Well stocked kitchen. Cheaper than properties we were looking at in Bath. Nice for families. Amy, November 2019

For the price-very good value for money and facilities were good-near to town and not far from Bath.

The animals,seating outside when the sun came out,little extras in room,walk-in shower,heating-was worried before going as stayed in log cabin before in winter that was cold-this was nice and warm,including the bathroom,having a fridge in room and the host was welcoming.Also free parking. Oct 19

Self Catering Cottage – Loved it!

The kids absolutely loved the games room and outdoor space, made them feel very welcome. Cottage was clean, cosy and warm with everything we needed. The owners flexibility in setting up a room for our 3 children despite Booking.com not forwarding on this information was really nice, thank you.  Oct 2019

A very unique and charming place with a lovely host – would highly recommend!

The accommodation was absolutely lovely with a unique and rustic style. The room was very clean and cosy, breakfast perfectly cooked and we also enjoyed a game of pool in the games room. Our dog was welcome for a small extra charge and had an entire field next to the property to run around freely! – October 2019

Fabulous accomodation and delicious high quality breakfast

Pauline and Nigel are lovely amiable hosts, that go an extra mile to make sure their guests enjoy their stay. The ‘Milking Shed’ accommodation was excellent, the biggest bed I ever saw, bath stone and wooden beams, with lovely little extras, from toiletries, to fresh milk and spring water, a huge selection of beverage items, microwave facilities and even umbrellas! I brought along my dog and we enjoyed walks along the designated fields where she could run free, idyllic. I booked to stay last minute, and what a great decision that was. I must add that the breakfast was stunning, I was naughty enough to have a cooked breakfast on both mornings and it was out of this world, all fresh, plenty of it and served with a smile and a little chat. I will DEFINTELY be booking to stay again, whether for business or pleasure as there are so many historic places nearby to explore. Thank you so much Pauline and Nigel, see you soon! Jayne – October 2019